• Our physical shop is now reopen! Price varies across different selling platforms and occasionally, some items may run out of stock
icon-search
icon-search
  • 81AxuuS6avL._SL1500_
  • x2
  • Xmas for Web-02

The Librarian of Auschwitz: Based on the incredible true story of Dita Kraus by Antonio Iturbe

RM 60.00
The Librarian of Auschwitz: Based on the incredible true story of Dita Kraus by Antonio Iturbe Ratings: 0 - 0 votes
- +
icon-bag Add to Cart
Home

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world - and the most dangerous.


'It wasn't an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns...'


Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezìn ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the 'living books' - prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be 'borrowed' to educate the children in the camp.


But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children's block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor...


The Sunday Times bestseller for readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice. From the author of The Prince of the Skies, based on the incredible and moving true story of Dita Kraus, holocaust survivor and secret librarian for the children's block in Auschwitz.


Book information

ISBN:    9781529104776

Publisher:    Ebury Publishing

Imprint:    Ebury Press

Pub date:    04 Apr 2019

Edition:    Paperback original

DEWEY:    863.7

DEWEY edition:    23

Language:    English

Number of pages:    423

Weight:    320g

Height:    126mm

Width:    194mm

Spine width:    27mm

Reviews

Be the first to review

Your cart is currently empty.
Continue shopping